Natural Literacy

I had woken and was lying in bed listening to the rain pounding down on the roof tops and bouncing off the floor and the sound of the cars outside splashing through the puddles as they made their way along their journey. It made me realise that this was the ‘Sound of rain’. 

My new word from nature “Pisthurism’ (the sound of wind in the trees)  has made me think about literacy around us more than ever. I look at running water in a stream and wonder, why is it, that it is running so fast when the sound of it makes me calm down inside and slow my pace?

 

Why, when gazing out over the view of the Autumn gloomy dark landscape does it reflect me back to warmth and ‘ cosy-ness’ by the log fire.

It dawned on me, literally as the sun came up, but not being able to use its warmth for me to bask in, that the sound of rain whilst I lay warm tucked up in my duvet was handing me a feeling just through sound. I was unable to see the ‘stair rods’ bouncing off the road as it was dark. The ‘pitter-patter’ of the rain upon the slates, was not only wet in substance but was onomatopoeia in its true sense.

Dictionary Term.

1. the formation of a word, as ‘cuckoo’ or ‘boom’, by imitation of a sound made by or associated with its referent.

2. the use of such imitative words.

From the Greek  ‘onoma’ name + ‘poiein’ to make.

  
It uses adjectives to its extreme to describe how it is coming into your world at that moment in time. Like it was natures music sounding over the air-waves wrapping you in a descriptive blanket. 

‘Pitter-patter of rain drops’. ‘Listen to that rain.’ ‘Hammering it down’ all describing not precipitation in natures form, but a sound that portrays a feeling. We are all different in the way use our NLP ( neuro linguistic programming) and the journey it takes you on. Some hear the rain and have a downward journey, others are taken back to warm moments and times of a journey with friends- the sound of rain on the canvas with a great view out over valley below.

  

Discovering literacy outdoors is so much more than writing. It’s your expedition into words and their meanings, feelings, shapes and structure. Start your literary journey by going outside first, and not by writing but listening and feeling, the language of the outdoors will come alive.

Leave a Reply

