Operation Natural Well-being. 

The day of operation ‘Nature’s well-being’ had finally arrived. I had been walking through my outdoor journey for the last few months now as my hip replacement  operation had been cancelled several times. I had been on the walk in daylight, dawn, dusk, night-time, sun, wind and rain. Frosty underfoot and very soggy lately. Taking in all the detail of the path, it’s ups and downs the angle of where the trees cross above. The colours, the textures the feelings of the moss and leaf-litter. All this was my master plan in readiness for my thoughts going into the anaesthetic to use Nature to become calm and for a feeling of well-being and a positivity in my mental health. Also using it with the  recuperation afterwards when I am home and for a short while unable to walk the route. 
There is a spiritual side to my thoughts in walking in Nature but there is now scientific medical evidence that green space and fresh air aids recovery. Even the view from your bed window can have an affect on the time of recovery and most importantly the frame of your mind. This was one the incentives in my natural master plan. 

With all this in mind and with the thoughts initially that the wards all face the wonderful vista of the Blorenge and green mountains I entered  the ward on the morning of admission. However, as all plans there may need for some iteration along the journey. Certainly this was the case when they lead me to a side ward of my own with a magnificent view to aid health and well- being.

The ward opposite my room had a magnificent green view. 

My room had a different twist to the meaning of  ‘green’ ! Which meant my plan to become a success had to be a truely walk completely in the mind. 

Another iteration came when a few problems with introducing the anaesthetic meant I did not even open the gate to the woods to start my walk for the journey into the operation.

 Oh well, not to worry. Post operative positivity was in full force, which I am sure came from the influence of the saturation into Nature therapy for months prior to my NHS therapy. 


Within days I was home and using my green journey as part of my recuperation plan. Daily in my exercise routine I finished with a meditative walk along my route through the woods. 

Within a two weeks I ventured onto the walk alongside the stream but not into the wood as my crutches sank too much into the mud. 

Once I had the ability to access fully to the green gym – which is free by the way! the recovery sped up daily. My incentive to walk further in my normal journey motivated my efforts. 

 By week seven I had been to the top of Pen Y Fan much to the surprise of my physio. 


My time in preparation in using Nature to aid my recovery from my hip operation has been in my mind  been essential. The use of Nature and its natural medicine has in my case been a complete success. I can only compare with two years previous when I had my first hip replacement and recovery was so slow in comparison without Natures remedies. 

I am a firm believer in the use of Nature to help with all aspects of health. Taking off the top of the bottle with the label ‘Nature’ is the best move you can make if you have a medicinal need. It’s a tonic that should be taken daily. 

Leave a Reply

